The responsibility of the multi-faceted delivery of essential public services for the County is born by the Marshall County Commission. The Commission is composed of a five member Board: one Chairman and four Commissioners that are elected by the voters in each of the geographic districts. The Chairman is elected from the County at large. The entire Commission serves a four-year term, which is staggered.


The Marshall County Commission represents the local government officials promoting excellence in Marshall County Government. The Mission of the Commission is to promote informed public policy, accountability and effective administration. Marshall County strives to improve the quality of life for Marshall County citizens. To promote positive change in Marshall County local government. To enhance cost effective delivery of government services for Marshall County. To enhance service efforts through an internal program of continuous quality improvement. To establish adequate funding to support quality programs and activities. It is the goal of the Commission to provide highly effective government leadership for Marshall County. It is our mission to oversee the administration of county government in Marshall County in a manner that will provide the very best services possible to the citizens of Marshall County (within the financial constraints that the Commission must work under).


The Commission is the governing body of Marshall County. The four commissioners are elected from four districts within the county for four-year terms. The major areas of responsibilities of the Commission are as follows:

  • Administer the County's finances
  • Serve as custodians of all County property
  • Collect taxes as required by state law
  • To promote Tourism and Industrial Development within Marshall County
  • To oversee the construction and maintenance of County roads and bridges
  • Provide funding for select county elected officials, departments, and functions


Marshall County Commission meetings are held on the second Wednesday and the fourth Wednesday at 10:00am each month. Work Sessions are held on the second Wednesday and the fourth Wednesday at 9:00am each month. When a Holiday intervenes, the meeting will be held the following Thursday in the Commission Chamber located on the third floor of the Marshall County Courthouse at 424 Blount Ave. Guntersville, AL.

All meetings of the Marshall County Commission are open to the public (some restrictions apply due to covid-19) and are wheel chair accessible by calling 256-571-7701.

Marshall County Commission welcomes you to it's meeting and your interest is appreciated. If you wish to address an issue placed on the agenda, please call 256-571-7701. Time limitations shall be set for 3 minutes due to the time scheduling.

Commission Audits

District Divisions Map